The Scene

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Starts Summer on the Podium

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross series kicked off last Saturday at the famed Glen Helen Raceway after a multiple year hiatus. Glen Helen is a unique circuit and certainly provides a specific set of challenges with its steep hills and long straights. The Troy Lee Designs team was looking to start the season with a bang and they did just that with Cole Seely snagging a third overall, his first national motocross podium. 

The 450 class started the action and MavTV rider Malcolm Stewart was inside the top ten and working hard. The Glen Helen bumps started getting big and the ruts sank deeper but Stewart stayed steady and logged a solid 8th in the opening moto. 

The second moto was nearly a repeat of the first. Malcolm get a decent start, rode solid and posted an 8th place finish for 7th overall. It was a good start to a long summer. Stewart was happy with his TLD Honda and looking forward to improving upon his result. 

In the 250 class, Cole Seely started in tenth in the opening moto and charged his way to second in the early laps. He looked to have that spot locked up until a late race charge by a couple of his competitors slid him back to fourth. His teammates Shane McElrath and Jessy Nelson didn't get the starts they wanted and spent the moto scrapping with other riders for points and position. At the end of moto one they would find themselves in 18th and 15th positions, respectively. 

Moto two was better for Nelson and he found himself near the front in the early laps. He spent part of the moto with his teammate Cole Seely near him. Seely motored from a tenth place start up to fourth again, while Nelson was awarded for his good start and steady riding with a 6th in the moto. 

Shane just couldn't get it going and found himself in 13th at the end of moto two. Cole Seely ended up with third overall, Nelson was ninth and McElrath is listed in seventeenth on the day. 

Next weekend the rolling hills of Hangtown will offer a new set of challenges the Troy Lee Designs riders will attempt to conquer. Be sure to follow all the team riders as they lay it on the line every single weekend for points, cash and glory. 

The TLD riders debuted the 2015 SE Pro gear at Glen Helen, which is now available online and at your local TLD retailer

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, Fender®, Pro Tork, MavTV, Method Race Wheels, GoPro, Fasthouse, Pixelmags, Horizon Hobby, FMF Racing, Dunlop, VP Racing Fuels, Showa, Alpinestars, ODI, Pacific Collision Centers, New Era, Specialized, Sram, Renthal, Twin Air, Braking, McQueen Racing, Cyrca, Sol Republic, Hinson, Shock Doctor, ARC, Carillo, Sports Care Center, Samco, Xtrig, VQ Orthocare, Vortex, Kryptonight, Kasey Kahne, Dirt Star, Moto Tassinari, DID, Dirt Star, N-Style. 

Photo Gallery: Glen Helen MX 2014 (Photos: Cudby)

Race Results: 

450 Class

1.) Ryan Dungey (3-1)
2.) Ken Roczen (2-2)
3.) Trey Canard (7-3)
4.) Brett Metcalfe (4-5)
5.) Josh Grant (1-15)
6.) James Stewart (6-6)
7.) Malcolm Stewart (8-8)
8.) Jake Weimer (10-7)
9.) Weston Peick (5-13)
10.) Chad Reed (9-10)
11.) Ivan Tedesco (13-9)
12.) Phil Nicoletti (11-11)
13.) Justin Barcia (34-4)
14.) Kyle Chisholm (15-14)
15.) Ben LaMay (20-12)
16.) Sean Collier (12-38)
17.) Jimmy Albertson (17-17)
18.) Tommy Weeck (14-22)
19.) Fredrik Noren (29-16)
20.) Evgeny Mikhaylov (19-18)
21.) Nick Schmidt (16-23)
22.) P.J. Larsen (18-39)
23.) Andrew Short (35-19)
24.) Ronnie Stewart (23-20)
25.) Cyrille Coulon (22-21) 

250 Class 

1.) Jeremy Martin (1-1)
2.) Cooper Webb (2-2)
3.) Cole Seely (4-4)
4.) Blake Baggett (8-3)
5.) Christophe Pourcel (7-5)
6.) Justin Bogle (5-9)
7.) Matt Bisceglia (11-7)
8.) Marvin Musquin (10-8)
9.) Jessy Nelson (15-6)
10.) Jason Anderson (3-31)
11.) Kyle Cunningham (14-12)
12.) Dean Wilson (6-33)
13.) Valentin Teillet (12-16)
14.) Matt Lemoine (13-17)
15.) Zach Osborne (9-37)
16.) Alex Martin (40-10)
17.) Shane McElrath (18-13)
18.) Jackson Richardson (17-14)
19.) Justin Hill (36-11)
20.) Zach Bell (16-16)
21.) Kyle Peters (22-15)
22.) Jacob Baumert (19-18)
23.) Blake Savage (25-19)
24.) Brady Kiesel (29-20)
25.) Scott Champion (20-24)